Jet Skiing, Anyone?

Three trips, two rounds of discounts, two emails, 10 text messages, one phone call, and a sketchy old gift card from 2009 – this Threeasfour dress is finally mine.

Ever since I saw this on the oak website I knew I had to try it on – thick stretchy neoprene, cut and manipulated into curved seams and a sculptural gravity defying hem, one shouldered. Black. It screamed my name. When I finally went to try it on, it was the height of summer, the store was hot and sticky and so was I. Squeezing into that dress was like squeezing into a rubber tube sock, but when I finally did get it on, I struggled to catch my breath as I gave my bf a peek – he loved it and so did I, even though I was sure that outside of the dark and black painted fitting room I’d look like stuffed sausage.

A couple of months later I went back to the store. Minus the humidity and a couple of pounds, the only struggle I had was internal as I reluctantly returned it to the rack, deterred by my current account balance.

At 30% off, the dress in my size was gone. At 40% off, I asked for the warehouse to ship the one-size-bigger to the store for me to try on. Neoprene. Stretchy. It works! When sales told me they could reactivate what was probably an expired gift card, I took the plunge.

About The Oven is Not for Clothes!

Used to be "Single and cooking in the city", but let this be a lesson, Ladies Itching To Wed, once you learn how to cook, you'll be reeling in good catch ;) Does anyone read this thing!?

Leave a Reply

