Lucky Girl

Piling on all my new things at once…

I had been obsessively checking Saks for sale updates on these Burberry Prorsum boots for weeks! First seen on the runway and paired with beautifully textured pencil skirts and sheath dresses, in my mind, these were the perfect edge to add to boring work ensembles. I had planned wardrobes around the possibility of these boots before I had even tried them on. And after the initial 20% discount on the website, my boyfriend made a very evil suggestion: Why don’t you go try them on?

So on a blustery Saturday, we made a pilgrimage to the 57th Street Burberry store and found them after climbing 3 flights of stairs to the top. Standing next to an equally as breathtaking identical pair in python (which was not on sale… anywhere), I picked up the black leather version and asked for a 37. Sales arrived bearing 2 boxes, 36 and 38 – 37 was out – and suggested I try them on in a dressing room to avoid the cluster of ladies trying on rainboots on the only available ottomans near me.

36 would have been impossible, so I gingerly stuck my feet into the 38s, afraid to blemish the immaculate and very expensive leather at the immaculate and very expensive store. At a whole size too large, I still fell in love. The slim leather shaft, ruched slightly for a casually glamorous look, and a thigh high length which I was sure would keep my legs toasty warm with all my winter skirts (I live in skirts because my skinny jeans get temperamental when I eat too much)… is this a miracle or just an example of expert design that these boots don’t scream hooker!? I love them, I want them – but I want them at the discounted price. Sales informs me there have been no markdowns yet, and that they could try to locate a 37 at a different store and ship it to me. But why would I purchase at full price when I could get them for less at Saks? I gave them back and ran home to stalk the website once again…

After much deliberation.. well, you can see what the final decision was.

Now I’m excited: tonight is the book signing party for Tilar J. Mazzeo’s The Secret of Chanel No. 5 at the Marcel Hotel!

About The Oven is Not for Clothes!

Used to be "Single and cooking in the city", but let this be a lesson, Ladies Itching To Wed, once you learn how to cook, you'll be reeling in good catch ;) Does anyone read this thing!?

Leave a Reply

